Winters End v1.0 – Wii & Windows

Video provided by Cid2Mizard from NintendoMax.

The entries for the Drunken Coders Competition have been posted. There where four entries for DS but it it turns out Winter’s End was the only thing submit for Wii.

Winter’s End is a simple winter themed game. You play as a snow person who is very slowly melting away. You can move around the map and collect snow to make yourself larger. When there is no snow left in the area you taken to the next level and when you complete the tenth level it will loop back to the first.

In the Wii version your movements are motion controlled (hold the wiimote sideways like an NES controller and tilt it in the direction you want to go) and you use the directional pad to turn the camera.

In the PC version you use the WASD or arrow keys to move and the camera spins depending on where in the window the mouse cursor is located.

The background music used in this game is After Winter Dreams by Click.

Download the Wii version
Alternate links

Download the Windows version
Alternate links

You can find a zip file with the Wii version of Winter’s End and the rest of the entries here.

5 Responses to Winters End v1.0 – Wii & Windows

  1. Looks fun! I can’t wait to try it out! I love the music too, you are good at choosing music for games!

    P.S. Any possibility of multiplayer?

    • ThatOtherDev says:

      Thanks 🙂

      Yeah, I’m really happy with the music I found for it. I thought it was fitting and sounded good and its great to hear that you think the same. Aside from when I’m browsing for stuff to use in my games I don’t really listen to a lot of music. So I’m not really confident about how often what I think of piece of music matches up with what other people would think.

      Try it out first and let me know if you would still be interested in seeing it updated (its really not much of a game) and if there are any other additions or changes you would like.

      Multiplayer would be easy to add.

  2. owen says:

    I like the edge outlining on the snow man and the trees! How many trees can you have before it starts to slow down?

    • ThatOtherDev says:

      I actually added the outline out of necessity (I still haven’t gotten lighting working with GX and without any shading it was a bit too difficult to differentiate between the snowman and the white snow on the ground). But it turned out looking really nice so I ended up sticking with it.

      I haven’t actually done any testing to see when performance would become a problem.

      It was planned to be for Wii from the start but I actually made the PC version first and luckily when I ported it over to Wii it already ran fine with the number of trees in each level I had made.

      To be honest I don’t even know what the current frame rate is. I assume its somewhere around 60 because it seems to run at the same speed as the PC version. But I don’t know yet how to measure the passage of time precisely enough to calculate it. The game doesn’t use SDL so I can’t use SDL_GetTicks() anymore and apparently GetTickCount() is windows specific…

      I haven’t counted the number of trees in any of them but the levels are on a grid which I arbitrarily decided to make 25×25 (if/when I update the game I’m planning to fix it to work with differently sized grids and let people load their own levels) so there is probably somewhere around 300 trees in a lot of the levels.

      It probably helps that the things the environment are built out of are pretty simple. The trees aren’t animated or uniquely rotated. As I mentioned before there isn’t any lighting and I’m not using any kind of shader that would slow things down. The outline was just added by making a duplicate of the mesh, enlarging it with the FatBoy tool in Milkshape3D and then reversing its facing order (backface culling is turned on in the game). So that ends up doubling the polygon count of anything with an outline. But even with the outline doubling it the polygon count for each tree is still only 148.

      • owen says:

        Yeah lighting seems to be very illusive, I’ve only seen one project with it and the guy hasn’t done anything on the wii side in years. It doesn’t need lighting for the most part, only thing I would do is change the bg fill color to green and fill the outside with trees.

Leave a comment