The Untitled Project v0.2 and source – PS3 & Windows

Here is an update to The Untitled Project.

The world is slightly larger.
There are 500 somethings scattered around for you to collect.
The game now saves everything the first time you start it up and again any time that you find one of the collectibles.
It loads that save file when you return to the game.
Every building now has at minimum one door on the ground floor.
Every building now has an elevator.
There are now skywalks connecting even buildings that are immediately next to each other.
There is a mini map of the city (it doesn’t rotate or zoom or show your position on it or do anything like that yet).
There is a ghost mode added for testing purposes in which you can fly forward with collision detection and gravity turned off (press down to enable/disable it).

I think that is everything aside from some less noticeable tweaks (turning is faster for example and sewer manholes are slightly wider and I removed some unnecessary polygons from the walls).

Download the signed PS3 version
Alternate links

Download the unsigned PS3 version
Alternate links

Download the Windows version + Source Code
Alternate links

I would appreciate it if any other coders would be willing to take a look at why such bad things happen when when I don’t #ifdef out the stuff relating to loading ms3d (Milkshape 3D) files when compiling for PS3. It returns some messages about failed inlining which I’ve never encountered before and don’t know how to correct. I doesn’t help that didn’t write that loader myself (its from the MilkShape 3D Binary Model Viewer) so I’m not particularly familiar with how it works. I’ll give correcting it myself another try later.

If I end up needing to make my own 3d model loader from scratch (in addition to the one I already wrote and am currently using for Wavefront .obj files) does anybody have any recommendations for what format I should use? I need something that supports bone based animation. Just stick with ms3d? Or maybe smd?

29 Responses to The Untitled Project v0.2 and source – PS3 & Windows

  1. Peter says:

    Nice update – this has so much potential!
    Found a glitch though – enabling textures seems to allow you to fly and move through walls.

  2. Peter says:

    Oops.. my bad. seems that I was turning on ghost mode..

  3. Heres a bug for yer: Under-ground sewer tunnels are sometimes intersecting, I’m assuming here that you have the maps randomly generated?
    Screenies:

    and

    There wasn’t a problem going through this particular glitch, I was able to walk right through it, probably because collision detection is done low on the character amrite?

    • thatotherdev says:

      Yup the map is randomly generated. Your the first person to point it out though and I was starting to wonder if anybody had realized it yet.

      I’ve seen that happen a few times when testing. I’ll move fixing it a little higher on my list of priorities.

      And yeah the only part of you that collides with the world right now is an invisible sphere located low on the player character.

  4. lain says:

    i love cyber punk and open world
    i was begining a mod to crysis with sandbox2 of the cryengine but i have stop it ^^

    you have doing it all in C++ ? it amazing !

    sorry for my bad english i’m french ^^

  5. The_Blob2000 says:

    I was having fun with this and found 246 somethings out of the 500. Is there any sort of surprise for getting them all? Probably not considering this is still such a young project (maybe the mystery of not knowing will keep me playing a little more, lol). Ghost mode is great for exploring the map and I occasionally get a huge glitch with the physics if I ghost into a floor and then turn it off. Made me find that there are lots of the hidden items on top of buildings. I started to turn the draw distance up with the right button on the d-pad and even turned on the “textures” – anyway, great work with this!

    • thatotherdev says:

      I’m not sure if I should really be killing the mystery or not but at the moment there isn’t any reward for finding them all. There will be one added later but any progress you make now wont carry over into later versions… I’m glad you like it so far though.

  6. CADAV says:

    Hi man, really amazing, you are a killer. All alone, you already made something bigger than lots of existing games. And when I see cyberpunk and open world, I just can say Thank you ! This will be the first real cyberpunk game for years. Keep going this way man, I stay tuned…

  7. freeloader247 says:

    name@NAME-PC /c/usr/local/cell/samples/fw
    $ make
    make –no-print-directory -f fw.mk
    make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all’.
    make –no-print-directory -f fwgcm.mk
    make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all’.

    name@NAME-PC /c/usr/local/cell/samples/fw
    $ cd testapp

    name@NAME-PC /c/usr/local/cell/samples/fw/testapp
    $ make
    make -C ..
    make[1]: Entering directory `/c/usr/local/cell/samples/fw’
    make –no-print-directory -f fw.mk
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all’.
    make –no-print-directory -f fwgcm.mk
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all’.
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/c/usr/local/cell/samples/fw’
    make –no-print-directory -f testapp.mk
    /c/usr/local/cell/host-win32/ppu/bin/ppu-lv2-g++ -c -g -O2 -std=c++98 -fno-
    tions -W -Wall -Wuninitialized -Wcomment -Wchar-subscripts -Wdeprecated-dec
    ions -Wendif-labels -Wformat=2 -Wformat-extra-args -Wimplicit -Wimport -Win
    -Wmissing-braces -Wparentheses -Wpointer-arith -Wredundant-decls -Wreturn-t
    Wshadow -Wsign-compare -Wswitch -Wunknown-pragmas -Wunused -Wwrite-strings
    lude -I../include -DPSGL -D_DEBUG -DCELL_DATA_DIR=\”/c/usr/local/cell/samp
    ta\” -Wp,-MMD,objs/src/testapp.ppu.d,-MT,objs/src/testapp.ppu.o -o objs/src
    app.ppu.o src/testapp.cpp
    /c/usr/local/cell/host-win32/ppu/bin/ppu-lv2-g++ -L.. -L/c/usr/local/cell/
    t/ppu/lib/PSGL/RSX/debug objs/src/testapp.ppu.o ../libfw.a -lPSGL -lPSGLU –
    FX -lm -lresc_stub -lgcm_cmd -lgcm_sys_stub -lnet_stub -lio_stub -lsysutil_
    -lsysmodule_stub -o testapp.elf
    /c/usr/local/cell/host-win32/bin/make_fself.exe testapp.elf testapp.self

    I get these errors when compiling can you help?

    • thatotherdev says:

      Unless I’m mistaken none of that is an error message. It looks like its compiled correctly. You should find your testapp.elf file in c:/usr/local/cell/samples/fw/testapp/ ready to be packaged.

  8. John says:

    Hey, nice update man. I got myself a registered copy of MS3D, really nice software. Just messing around with some faces right now. I’ve tested v0.2 for you and only thing what I noticed was the sewers coliding (as pointed above) Besides that nothing too big, just me trying to climb up the side of the towers using the little ridges and the massive jump height.

    Keep it up.

  9. Abdiel says:

    Signed doesn’t install on Waninkoko v2, but that was expected. However I used the unsigned pkg and it installed but it gives me an 80010009 error when I try to play. Is there something I’m doing wrong? Is there an extra step I have to do that i’m not doing?

    • thatotherdev says:

      I really don’t know. Are you sure Waninkoko’s v2 CFW supports unsigned code?

      Anything I’ve released as unsigned since January 12th has been untested. So its plausible that I messed something up packaging them but I don’t think that’s the problem.

      I’m not sure when exactly I updated to geohots 3.55 CFW but it was sometime before January 12th since that’s when I released my first signed game. Once on Geohots CFW I could run sign code but couldn’t use my jailbreak device anymore so I couldn’t run unsigned code anymore to test anything.

      Yesterday I got around to installing Waninkoko CFW 3.55 v2 and it still worked with the signed stuff I already had working. But my old signed stuff that I know worked back in the jailbreak days still wouldn’t run.

      So I installed 3.55 KMEAW CFW (its what I’m still on now) and had the same result. I get a 80029519 error when running any of my old unsigned stuff. The Geohot signed stuff still works fine for me though.

      I haven’t been paying very close attention to whats been going on in the scene since when CFW started coming out so I’m sure I’m just oblivious to something that’s common knowledge. But I have no idea what the deal is with what works and what doesn’t on modern CFW.

      • Abdiel says:

        I’m not really sure what Waninkoko’s supports.
        I’ve got Multiman installed but so far that’s the only thing that works right. In addition to this game I tried getting a few different apps to run, having similar problems with those. tried to install a signed blackbox FTP, wouldn’t install, installed the unsigned one, it gives the same error your game does.. Maybe i have to sign for 3.41 or something, but I’m not sure how to do that.

  10. Ahmad Byagowi says:

    Hi,

    I am trying to run the source code on Visual Studio 2010. I fixed a lot of the errors. Now I am stuck in where it is asking me to framework.lib . Apparently, the framework part is not included. How can I work around. Second thing, I was wondering, is anyway to edit the map.
    Thank you very much

  11. Ahmad Byagowi says:

    Hi,

    After working on the source code, I figured out to compile the whole thing together. So now my next question. How can I edit the map. I want to add a special map. Thank you

    • Since the map is generated randomly using certain rules, I think the only way would be either to bypass the random generating part of the code or possibly, seeing that after it’s started up once (i’m guessing gen on first run) it saves the map and doesn’t generate a new map for subsequent uses (right)? In that case it may be possible to find the file containing the map data and edit it to your liking.

      • thatotherdev says:

        Ditto what Stephen said.

        The game world is a 3d grid constructed out of reused 3d tiles.

        As long as there is a save file the game will load the grid from it but otherwise the grid is procedurally generated when the game is loading.

        You can find the meshes of those tile in the Media\worldtiles\ folder. They are all standard OBJ format meshes so you should be able to edit them with most 3d modeling programs.

        Its worth noting that collision detection is done only on tiles that are within a certain range of grid spaces. So if the mesh for a tile is excessively tall for example then the player may not correctly interact with it.

        The array worldgrid keeps track of that grid. worldgrid[x][y][z][0] stores the number of the tile (each tile has an assigned number) that is used for a given grid position and worldgrid[x][y][z][1] stores the rotation of the tile. The number used for rotations should be either 0,1,2 or 3. Rotations for tiles are pre calculated as multiples of 90 degrees around the y axis to save a little time when it comes to collision detection and rendering.

        In addition to grid tiles there are also entities that are not locked to a grid position and can instead move freely. Elevators are an example of this.

  12. Ahmad Byagowi says:

    Could you please give me more details in this regard

  13. Ahmad Byagowi says:

    My main concern is to place the building that I live in it (part of it) in the simulator.

    • thatotherdev says:

      Since it seems to be something that several people are interested in I’ll include some easy way to replace the game world with a single imported mesh in a future update to the game.

  14. t_england says:

    Back on the ps2 we had a 3ds loader that i used, it worked well, it was on the ps2 linux site. I would like to see either obj or 3ds supported.

    • thatotherdev says:

      The game does support OBJ files. An MS3D file is use for the animated player model in the windows version but on PS3 all of the models are loaded from OBJ files. I’ve always used the OBJ format for all of my PS3 stuff.

      Some of my earlier PS3 games had problems with loading them and you had to remove certain sections of text from the files before they would load correctly. But I’ve corrected those flaws.

  15. Ahmad Byagowi says:

    Thank you guys for all your help. I really appreciate. Could you please tell me the name of a specific software that I can use to edit the map. I think it is stored in the gamesave.txt file.
    Thank you again

  16. Leonn says:

    Can you Upload it again for PS3? . All links are off.
    Thanks man !

  17. Marco says:

    Ashe also has a talent known as Hawkshot which lets you see whats infront of you by firing an arrow inside
    the direction you would like to determine. I am sure you
    will agree that too many times recently the UFC fights are really example of “bad boxing”
    rather than good MMA. We would have done a lot better though if Arsene had listened
    to me and hired me as a Transfer Market consultant at the Emirates; comon.

Leave a comment