Hero City v0.1 – Wii & Windows

Oh procrastination, why must you constantly slow my progress?

I started making this game ages ago but I haven’t been working on it as much as I could have. I haven’t really been doing much of anything lately. But with less then two weeks remaining before the Nintendomax Wii Dev Compo 2011 deadline I’ve begun working on it again. Its not yet really a game but I’m still hopeful that I will be able to finish it in time.

In Hero City you play as a superhero and fly around fighting monsters.

Use the nunchuck analog stick to move.
Use the wiimote pointer to turn.
Use the A button to jump, fly and run.

I’ll probably be changing the controls later and moving flying/running to their own button or buttons. There is a lot that will be changed as the game becomes more complete.

Download the Wii version
Download the Windows version

7 Responses to Hero City v0.1 – Wii & Windows

  1. 11ssims says:

    Nice!

  2. Wow! Looks very impressive! Can’t wait to try it out, I’ll have to download this and try it soon!

    By the way progress on my top down zombie shooter is progressing slow but steady. I almost have all the basic game mechanics like movement, health, damage, and guns down pat. I feel pretty good about it for being only my 2nd wii app. Me and my friend plan to expand it to have rounds, multiple weapons and ammo, and other things if we have any ideas (or time to make it).

  3. Mateo says:

    Aww no PS3 Version… :} Its okay. Ill try it out.

    • ThatOtherDev says:

      There will probably be a PS3 version in the distant future once I’m more familiar with PSl1GHT (or have returned to using the leaked SDK) and I’m not under time constraints to get the Wii version done anymore.

  4. owen says:

    nice. 🙂 The jumping works well, I only got running to work like twice. Why is your draw distance so short? Also you can put up a big square in the distance with a blurry sky texture and fog – yes add the fog but I don’t know how sdl would handle that.

    I’ve got to find something to enter into the compo!

    • ThatOtherDev says:

      Running happens when you are flying into the ground. So all you need to do is hold down jump until you begin flying (or jump, release the jump button/key and then hold it down again well you are falling) and aim at the ground and keep the camera pointed slightly downwards once you are on the ground (flying and running happens constantly and at the direction the camera is facing regardless of what directional buttons you are pressing or what direction you have the analog stick in).

      Though like I said the controls are likely to change.

      The draw distance is what it is because my PC is outdated and it runs poorly when it is further. Its farther in the Wii version.

      Nothing good or bad about the performance can be fairly blamed on SDL. Little aside from loading the textures and getting keyboard input is done with SDL. Rendering is handled by OpenGL (with which fog is a trivial thing to do) and everything gameplay related is custom made. The Wii version doesn’t use SDL at all (or even OpenGL for that matter as it uses GX directly).

      I haven’t looked into how to implement fog in GX yet so I can’t comment on that but I do plan to eventually add a sky box.

Leave a Reply

