UsbBreak for PS3

I ordered a UsbBreak (a cheap PSJailbreak clone) from ShopTemp. So I’ll be able to get in on the PS3’s new and quickly evolving homebrew scene some time soon. The downside is that I have no idea when if ever I’ll be on PSN again.

I was tempted from the start but wasn’t really going to do it originally. The initialy reported $150 price for a PSJailbreak was absurd and I’m rather fond of PSN and I feared the ban hammer. But they have gotten reasonably priced now (it only cost roughly $30 CAD and there are cheaper alternatives becoming available every day).

More importantly though is that the last firmware update (which is mandatory if you want to play online) blocked the exploit and the current lack of way to get around that block has created scarcity well making it clear which path leaves you with more options. You can update your PS3 to play online but you can’t downgrade it to mod and since PS3s sold in the foreseeable future will come with the new firmware you will be able to buy a new PS3 for online play but not a new one for modding. So PS3s that can be exploited are currently becoming a very limited resource and if you want to insure that you will have the option to use the exploit in the future then you cant update. More then anything else I want options which means that I refuse to get the update. I got the update that gave up OtherOS but I wont give this up. Since I refuse to update my PS3 then I can’t go online with it and if I can’t go online with it anyways then I may as well take advantage of the exploit.

So yeah… I’m not really sure when it will show up. I went with the free shipping which supposedly takes two to five weeks but according to the forums it actually tends to only be a little over one week. But I’m looking forward to its arrival and I’ll post more about it when I get it.

8 Responses to UsbBreak for PS3

  1. […] UsbBreak I ordered arrived today! It took 15 days (12 if your counting from when it was shipped rather then when it […]

  2. Jerome says:

    UsbBreak sucks it issent making contact to my usb as if the usb pen is a few inches to small….

    • thatotherdev says:

      I don’t know what you mean by it being too small. As far as I can tell its USB connector is the standard size and fits fine and makes the correct physical contact with everything.

      But there is no denying that its not a very good jailbreak device. I initially thought I was using it improperly but mine seems to stop working randomly. It works exactly as it should once its in use but getting it to start working tends to take some time and repeated efforts. On top of that its non upgradeable (or at least my early version isn’t) and I doubt the newer version is particularly well supported.

      I have absolutely no regrets buying it. At the time it was the cheapest one available and its mostly functional. But I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody anymore. There are far better alternatives available now.

  3. Koyasan says:

    It’s encouraging seeing how far you’ve come in such a short time. I’ve been looking everywhere for some decent homebrew, and I’m finding your Cubicle Shooter rather interesting. Though it’d be nice to have a ‘death’ or ‘game over’ in it – for example when one of the enemy sprites comes into contact with the player. Though I’m pretty sure you’ve thought of this already…
    If I knew the slightest bit about programming and what-not I’d give making homebrew a go. The closest I ever came to making something was a poorly made calculator using Visual Basic. I did a few google searches for ‘how to make a pkg file’ and the like, but nothing useful. Guess it’s not that simple.

    Hope to see some more good developments from you in the future. Oh and by the way, what do you actually do in The Untitled Project? As in, what can you do? I downloaded a version from another site (how I found your page) and all I seem to do is jump in holes and through windows. I’ll update it to a newer version soon – I saw something about a minimap and collectables (neither of which are on my, so obviously I don’t have the newest version).
    Anyway, good work and thanks for the apps/games/brew/fun. 🙂

    • ThatOtherDev says:

      Thanks 🙂 I’m glad that you approve of what I’m doing.

      At the moment there isn’t really anything to do in The Untitled Project other then wander around. version 0.2 has some stuff for you to try to collect but that’s all. I was having some trouble with version 0.3 (the one with the minimap) so you cant actually play it on PS3 yet.

      • Koyasan says:

        Ah right. It seems like it could be quite fun if developed further. Hope you get it working. This might sound cheeky but what do you actually use to develop games like this? I mean, how do you make a pkg file that will work? So far, I’ve only found a couple of working homebrew games/apps (a few that install, but get the ‘unsigned’ error when launching – eg. ps3doom) and most are yours. It seems as if nobody’s interested in homebrew and all they want to do is figure out how to play “backup” games. It’s a shame there aren’t more developers making their own games. I’d love to have something to put my name to and be proud of! But it sounds as if it’s too hard. 😦

Leave a Reply

