Dance Clone v0.5 – Windows

Here is v0.5 of Dance Clone for Windows.

Unlike the Wii version it doesn’t crash anymore when importing any Step Mania songs. I don’t know why the problem still persists with certain songs when running the game on Wii but it doesn’t seem to be a problem anymore here. So its just an extra reason to do your importing ahead of time on your computer…

Download Links for Windows PC version

12 Responses to Dance Clone v0.5 – Windows

  1. smashdude says:

    So will this download version work for the wii at all? Can I just download step mania songs and bemainstream songs and they won’t crash anymore? Is that what you are trying to say? Believe me I love this as much as guitar hero! I will dance to queen! Led zeppelin! Also can I do the “import stepmat” on the wii like I always have since I don’t know how to do it on the computer (unless you tell me please)? Or does it read code dumping as usual or not even show up as a song? Have you tried downloading songs on bemainstream yet? What do I do? Download this replace myt existing one and drag all of the songs onto this new version app? I am stuck! Thanks in advance!

    • thatotherdev says:

      This download of the game wont run on Wii. Its made for computers running Windows.

      If you want the latest version of the game for Wii then you can get it from http://www.multiupload.com/ZLH958A1R7 or download it using the Homebrew Browser http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_Browser

      On Wii the game still crashes when importing certain songs but it wont crash on PC so if you have a lot of songs that you want to import then you will probably want to do it with this on your PC and then copy the imported songs to your SD card (or whatever your storage device is) to play with them on Wii.

      With both the Wii version and the PC version of the game all of the music (mp3 files), step files (dc files) and any StepMania format step files that you want to import (sm files) should go in the “Music” folder that you can find in the DanceClone folder. The same folder where you can find the included “Rekcahdam – Dance, NOW!” files.

      Let me know if I’m being unclear about anything and your still confused.

      I’m not sure what bemainstream is.

  2. smashdude says:

    Ok but I am new to this lol. I download the PC version, stick it on my desktop then what? I stick the songs in music but how do I open up the app and start importing stepmats? And then afterwards supposedly I copy it over to my wii version and it should read and not list code dumping?

  3. smashdude says:

    Where do I go on this site to check if my desired songs have a download? I’ve tried the search bar but no results show at all!

    • thatotherdev says:

      There aren’t any songs on this site. I made Dance Clone but aside from the one included song I’m not providing any other music for it at the moment. Go to google and look for step mania songs.

  4. smashdude says:

    What about bemainstream?

    • thatotherdev says:

      As I answered when you asked elsewhere I don’t know what bemainstream is and could not find anything relevant when searching for it on google.

      In the future I would appreciate it if you would choose one post about Dance Clone and make all of your related comments in that one place instead of spreading them out over multiple pages on the site.

  5. smashdude says:

    Alright sorry man. Does dance clone on the wii work for you? Or are you experiencing problems like I am with the code dumping errors? Bemainstream is a site where you download music from. Do the songs in dance clone wii need to be unzipped after downloading them on stepmania? When I download a song on stepmania it says “simzip file” and I am unsure if I need to unzip it or not using winrar. Its a zipped file not a folder which I normally unzip.

  6. Dan says:

    I keep getting the error “this application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect.” I get it right after extracting it from the zip file. Is there a way around that? I want to use the PC version to convert SM files, because the Wii version crashes when trying to convert them. I would love to have a DDR clone game for the Wii, so I’m really looking forward to your program. I hope you’ll keep working on it. Thanks a lot for your work on this game.

    • thatotherdev says:

      Weird. I’ve never seen that error before with any program and I’m not really sure how to correct it.

      • Dan says:

        Yeah, I’ve never seen it either. I got the same errors with the older versions as I did with 0.5. I’m running Windows XP SP3. Well, if you can fix the bug on the Wii version I’ll use that instead. I used to do some programming, so I do realize that fixing bugs can take time. Good luck, I’ll try out future versions. Thanks for taking the time to reply to my message.

Leave a Reply

