Pineapple Apocalypse RPG: Revolt Of The Binary Couriers

Revolt Of The Binary Couriers is the sequel to Pineapple Apocalypse RPG and is the result of me typing random words in as a project name and then refusing to change the game title once its done. Hooray for nonsensical titles and plot less games.

Lame contest time: First person to post screen shots (there is a save screenshot option in the games home menu) with you talking to each of the 7 NPCs will win… Something… I dont know what. I’ll name a character after you in my next game or I’ll make a game based on your description or do something like that. Upload the pics to image shack or some similar site and post the link in my blog’s comments and let me know what you want.

The new world is four times the size of the original one. There are some new sprites. There are now the aforementioned NPCs that wander around the map and can be talked to (step up to them and they stop walking and some dialogue pops up on screen). there are boxes littered around the game world that you can collect. They dont actually serve any purpose but its not like the collect-a-thon is really any more aimless then the level grinding that the game focuses on. It isn’t a noticeable difference but the game is legitimately low rez this time. Last time I faked the retro look with pixelated looking sprites and by never positioning anything on screen anywhere that didn’t have two as a factor. This time around the game is actually rendered at 320×240 and then that small image is scaled up (nearest neighbor style) and drawn on screen. There is a new font. Most of the game was re written and the frame rate has been fixed up and now runs at the intended 60 frames per second (as apposed to the Wii version of the original Pineapple Apocalypse RPG which ran at a little bellow 30 and was noticeably unsmooth in its motion). I decided to enable walking at angles but since the character sprites dont have animations for it and I’m not sure I would be capable of making reasonable quality sprites at that resolution of characters walking at an angle it gives priority to the up down walking animations (if you walking down and to the left for example the characters play the walking down animation). I Didn’t add any new enemies but I corrected a mistake that was in the original Wii port which caused the last enemy on the list (giant mutant pineapple) to never appear. It no longer assumes you want to get fixe dup just because you bump up against a door and instead now requires you to hit accept. There is a game save/load menu. Some other changes also.

Hold the controller sideways (NES style) and use the directional pad to move and navigate menus. Press the two button to accept (in menus). Press either the plus or minus button to pause the game and bring up a menu for game saving and loading. As always hit the home button to bring up the home menu which allows you to exit the game.

Download links for Wii version

12 Responses to Pineapple Apocalypse RPG: Revolt Of The Binary Couriers

  1. We Brew Wii says:

    Thank you for the release.

    • thatotherdev says:

      No problem 🙂 You should actually probable be upset about it though. Its not really that huge of an improvement over the original Pineapple Apocalypse RPG and the time spent on it could have been put towards something ore in demand like Dance Clone or something completely original. lol. Anyways I hope you like it 🙂 .

  2. Moosh says:

    Really nice. Is there gonna be a PC release? Also,in the video I couldn’t hear any ambience or sound effects at all,are they in the game? 🙂

  3. Moosh says:

    Double post. I noticed also you could move diagnoly but there’s no animation for that. 😀

    • thatotherdev says:

      From the depths of the poorly written wall of text:

      “I decided to enable walking at angles but since the character sprites dont have animations for it and I’m not sure I would be capable of making reasonable quality sprites at that resolution of characters walking at an angle it gives priority to the up down walking animations (if you walking down and to the left for example the characters play the walking down animation).”

      The first Pineapple Apocalypse didnt have diagonal movement so I didn’t make animations for it when I made the original character sprites and I wasn’t sure I would be able to make very good animations of a person walking diagonally so I didn’t even try to make new ones for it. I suck at sprite art to begin with and its difficult communicating anything in such a small resolution. I’m actually thinking of cutting out diagonal movement anyways in the event that I make more of these. Its not like its something that many old RPGs had.

  4. Wii-Homebrew.com says:

    Thanks mate, I love RPGs.Keep up your great work 🙂

  5. We Brew Wii says:

    Fully tested out the game. Works great. The PC version is very good too. Thanks again.

  6. Mike says:

    Please up this to the Homebrew Browser so I can lazily download it on my Wii directly 🙂 Also, I hope the bug was fixed in the original that made NON-mutated pineapples deal billions of damage if you tried to run from them 😉

    • thatotherdev says:

      I cant actually upload the game to the homebrew browser myself. The service isn’t setup to allow for it. I’m assuming teknecal (the browsers programmer) adds everything by him/her self. There have been several rounds of updates for the browser without this being included though so I’ll make a request to have it added.

      I didn’t really change or rewrite much of anything about the combat system but I didn’t think there was much of a need to. I didn’t realize it was glitched but your totally right. I just tested it a few times with the PC version and although it doesn’t deal a billion damage it does actually completely crash anytime you attempt to run from a non mutated pineapple and fail to get away (no problems when you succeed to run and no problems with either failing or succeeding to run from any other monsters though). I’m not sure whats causing the problem or why it deals with the error differently on Wii then on PC but either way thanks a lot for pointing it out. I’ll consider going back and fixing it some time soon. There are a bunch of other improvements that I want to make so at a minimum I’ll correct the problem when I make the next big update and/or sequel. Thanks again for finding and pointing out the problem.

      • Mike says:

        Hi there, thought I’d follow up with a screen shot:

        The damage is always a high, somewhat random number but does not crash the game (reloading still works). This time it was nearly a billion 🙂 Hope to see development continue on this project, would love to fight more powerful enemies and explore more areas so I’ll wait for teknecal to update HBB.

Leave a Reply

